Mug thumbnail 1
Mug thumbnail 2
+1
images
Image of Gallery in South Kensington
On display at V&A South Kensington
Ceramics, Room 139, The Curtain Foundation Gallery

Mug

ca. 1790 (made)
Artist/Maker
Place of origin

Mug of soft-paste porcelain painted with enamels and gilded. Cylindrical with an angular scrolled handle. Painted with the arms and motto of Trinity House above a view of Lowestoft showing lighthouses in an oval panel on a ground of gilt stars.

Object details

Categories
Object type
Materials and techniques
Soft-paste porcelain painted with enamels and gilded
Brief description
Mug of soft-paste porcelain painted with enamels and gilded, probably painted by R. Allen, Lowestoft porcelain factory, Lowestoft, ca. 1790.
Physical description
Mug of soft-paste porcelain painted with enamels and gilded. Cylindrical with an angular scrolled handle. Painted with the arms and motto of Trinity House above a view of Lowestoft showing lighthouses in an oval panel on a ground of gilt stars.
Dimensions
  • Height: 13.9cm
  • Diameter: 10.2cm
Credit line
Legh Tolson Bequest
Production
Date given by John Howell in 1981
Subjects depicted
Collection
Accession number
C.53-1932

About this object record

Explore the Collections contains over a million catalogue records, and over half a million images. It is a working database that includes information compiled over the life of the museum. Some of our records may contain offensive and discriminatory language, or reflect outdated ideas, practice and analysis. We are committed to addressing these issues, and to review and update our records accordingly.

You can write to us to suggest improvements to the record.

Suggest feedback

Record createdJune 24, 2009
Record URL
Download as: JSONIIIF Manifest